

## **Board Meeting Minutes**

Connect for Health Colorado Meeting Room
Conference Call
November 21, 2016
9:00 AM – 10:00 AM

**Board Members Present:** Sue Birch, Kyle Brown, Steve ErkenBrack, Davis Fansler, Adela Flores-Brennan, Sharon O'Hara, Denise O'Leary, Marc Reece, Marguerite Salazar and Nathan Wilkes

**Board Members Absent:** Eric Grossman and Jay Norris

Staff Present: Kevin Patterson, Alan Schmitz, and Lisa Sevier

## I. Call to Order

• Board Chair Adela Flores-Brennan, called the meeting to order at 9:00 am and welcomed those in attendance, both in-person and on the phone.

## II. Executive Session

Ms. Flores-Brennan entertained a motion to move into Executive Session to discuss matters concerning sensitive and confidential issues around a personnel matter. A vote was called for and passed with unanimous approval.

The Executive Session is permitted pursuant to CRS §24-6-402(4)(f).

The Board returned from Executive Session at 9:19 am.

## III. CEO Contract

Ms. Flores-Brennan began a discussion on CEO Kevin Patterson's evaluation. It was noted that Mr. Patterson has made improvements to the organization and continues to stabilize and move Connect for Health Colorado forward. The board has conducted research including an employee survey, a multi-rater evaluation through Mountain States Employer Council and salary surveys.

Ms. Flores-Brennan recommended a 15% increase to Mr. Patterson's base pay, as of July 1, 2016. The CEO's goals are to be revised by year end 2016, and reviewed at the end of the fiscal year in June 2017. Achievement of the goals will result in a bonus of up to 5%; as well as a possible merit increase, to be determined at the time of the evaluation. Mr. Patterson's future yearly evaluations will then take place on a fiscal basis.

Davis Fansler motioned to approve the increase to Mr. Patterson's pay. Denise O'Leary seconded the motion. There was no discussion.

Ms. Flores-Brennan called the motion to a vote. The motion was approved as follows:.

**Yes:** Steve ErkenBrack, Davis Fansler, Adela Flores-Brennan, Sharon O'Hara, Denise

O'Leary, Marc Reece and Nathan Wilkes

No: None Abstain: None

Meeting adjourned at 10:25 am.

Respectfully submitted,

Davis Fansler Secretary

**Next Meeting** 

December 12, 2016 from 8:30 am - 12:00 pm